Skip Navigation

Carrie Aiken and Ryan Morris Named Lexpert Rising Stars

November 17, 2017

Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP (Blakes) is pleased to announce that Carrie Aiken and Ryan Morris have been honoured as Lexpert Rising Stars: Leading Lawyers Under 40 for 2017.

Located in our Calgary office, Carrie practises income tax law, advising and planning the tax aspects of domestic and international transactions. Carrie is past-president and a director of the Canadian Petroleum Tax Society. She is also a member of the Canadian Tax Foundation and the International Fiscal Association. In 2015 and 2016, she was recognized as a leading practitioner in the International Tax Review’s Women in Tax Leaders.

Ryan practises securities and transaction-related litigation in our Toronto office. He regularly acts on matters involving contested transactions, shareholder activism, oppression and fair value proceedings, and statutory plans of arrangement. He has significant experience defending primary and secondary market securities class actions, defending broker/dealer litigation and representing clients in investigations and hearings before securities regulators across the country. Ryan has been actively involved in The Advocates’ Society, where he served as a member of the Young Advocates Standing Committee from 2010 to 2012.

The awards are presented to lawyers from law firms and in-house counsel, aged 40 or under, who are up-and-coming in the Canadian legal community. Lexpert selects the finalists based on a number of criteria, and an advisory board votes on the winning candidates.

Other Blakes lawyers who have won the Rising Stars award include:

Susan Tomaine and Kurt Sarno (2016)
Nancy Diep and Eleni Kassaris (2015)
Roy Millen and Paul Singh (2014)
Jeff Bakker and Phillippe Bourassa (2013)
Eric Moncik, Linc Rogers and Patrick Shea (2012)
John Wilkin and Brian Thiessen (2011)
Ryder Gilliland and Dan McLeod (2010)
Chad Schneider and Shlomi Feiner (2009)
Jason Gudofsky and Bob Wooder (2008)
Cathy Beagan Flood, Carlos Cerqueira and Sunny Handa (2007)
Mike Gans and Geoff Belsher (2006)
Brian Facey, Sunny Handa, Jeff Lloyd, Craig Spurn (2004)
Paul Belanger, Geoff Belsher and Mike Gans (2002)