Skip Navigation

Bond University wins the Wilson Moot 2019

February 27, 2019

TORONTO (February 28, 2019) – Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP (Blakes) is pleased to announce that Bond University is this year’s overall winner of the Wilson Moot competition organized by the Firm. Team members included Amy Langley, Natalie Lesco, Preksha Lukkhoo and Andrew Wallace, who competed successfully against 12 other participating law schools.  

This year’s competition posed a fictional problem concerning age restrictions imposed on government funding for fertility treatments. The preliminary rounds took place in Toronto on February 22 and 23, 2019, while the final round between the top two teams from Bond University and the University of Ottawa was held on Saturday afternoon. Queen’s University placed third in the competition.

The prizes for best written argument were awarded to Bond University, followed by Queen’s University and the University of Alberta.

The top oralist was Maia Stevenson of McGill University, Uttra Gautam of the University of Ottawa placed second and Nico Bernardi from the University of Victoria placed third.

Blakes would like to acknowledge the Honourable Suzanne Côté of the Supreme Court of Canada, the Honourable J. Michal Fairburn of the Court of Appeal for Ontario and the Honourable Justice Ritu Khullar of the Court of Appeal of Alberta, who presided over the final round. Blakes also wishes to thank all the judges, lawyers and law students who judged and assisted with the preliminary rounds, as well as the moot’s sponsors, all of whom generously contributed their time and resources to make this year’s Wilson Moot a success.

This year, over 100 judges, lawyers and law students generously volunteered their time to the event. 

About the Wilson Moot

The Wilson Moot is a volunteer-driven event organized by Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP that explores legal issues concerning equity-seeking groups and thereby promotes the education of law students and the legal profession in these areas of pressing concern. It was founded in 1992 to honour the outstanding contribution to Canadian law made by the late Honourable Justice Bertha Wilson, the first woman appointed to the Supreme Court of Canada.

For further information about the Wilson Moot, visit or contact the Director of the Wilson Moot, Erin Hoult, at [email protected]. Photographs of the top-placing teams and individuals are available upon request.