Skip Navigation

Canada Imposes Additional Sanctions Against Belarusian Officials

October 20, 2020

On October 14, 2020, the Government of Canada added an additional 31 names to the list of sanctioned individuals under the Special Economic Measures (Belarus) Regulations (Belarus Regulations) made under the Special Economic Measures Act. These 31 individuals are officials of the Government of Belarus. Their addition to the schedule of listed persons in the Belarus Regulations follows Canada’s initial imposition of sanctions against 11 Belarusian government officials on September 29, 2020, in connection with Belarusian presidential elections and subsequent public protests.

For more information on Canadian sanctions against Belarus, including prohibitions and obligations applicable to persons in Canada and Canadians outside Canada, see our October 2020 Blakes Bulletin: New Canadian Sanctions Against Belarus.

For more information about Canadian sanctions, generally, please see our October 2020 Blakes Bulletin: A Primer on Canadian Sanctions Legislation or contact:

Greg Kanargelidis                      416-863-4306
Ora Morison                               416-863-2712
Vladimir Shatiryan                     416-863-4154

or any other member of our International Trade or Financial Services Regulatory groups.